Domestic battery is one of the different offenses that the prosecution may add to your charges when police arrest you for domestic violence. If you are charged with domestic battery, you may be worried about going to jail, paying fines and having a criminal record. In order to increase your chances of beating the charges against you, it is in your best interests to retain competent defense counsel — like one of the criminal defense lawyers from our firm — as soon as possible.
If you’re facing domestic battery charges
You need an aggressive attorney
Call now to speak to one
At our firm, our lawyers have more than 20 years of experience representing individuals charged with violent crimes in this state. We can assess your case and immediately begin developing a solid strategy to protect your freedom and your future. We are seasoned criminal law attorneys and will defend you against domestic battery charges. You have a lot at stake, and we will stand up for your rights in the matter. Hablamos Español.
What is Domestic Battery in California?
Under Penal Code 243(e)(1), a person commits domestic battery when he or she willfully inflicts force upon an intimate partner. An intimate partner is defined as any of the following individuals:
- Your current spouse
- Your former spouse
- The parent of your child
- Anyone you are dating
- Your fiancé or fiancée
It is important to realize that in order to be convicted of domestic battery in this state, you do not have to seriously injure your intimate partner. The slightest amount of unlawful touching is considered a crime under the state's domestic violence laws. If you inflict great bodily harm to your intimate partner, the prosecution may choose to charge you with a felony.
Additionally, if you are convicted of felony domestic battery in California, and you have prior violent convictions on your record, you could face 25 years to life in prison.
A big part of your chances at clearing the charges against you rests in the prosecution's case against you. Our chief attorney has substantial experience as a former senior prosecutor and knows how they will strategize against you. As a result, we know that in order to convict you of domestic battery, the prosecution must prove that you willfully inflicted force or violence on your intimate partner.
If the prosecution is successful, you face up to one year in jail and must pay up to $2,000 in fines. However, as skilled criminal defense lawyers, we know how to tailor a defense that meets the specific needs of your case.
Call us now to schedule a free consultation and get started
We will diligently uphold your rights
Call (805) 477-0070
As professional criminal defense attorneys, we at David Lehr Law are committed to helping you fight charges for domestic battery and violence in Ventura, Camarillo, and Oxnard. To schedule a free consultation, give us a call, or use the online form above. Our office has flexible hours, ample parking and is located near public transportation. Hablamos Español.